A Nice Afternoon

Tuesday afternoon I took advantage of the free time from the conference and drove up some of the mountain roads in this beautiful area of the Smokies. I found a place where water spewed out of the side of a mountain down the hill side and into a small stream. Parking my car I was admiring the awe of the scene when a little voice startled me by saying What you doing mister? I turned to see a young shirtless and shoeless boy of about seven looking at me. Over his shoulder I noticed for the first time the unpainted house, standing almost hid in the road side foliage. He yelled for his brothers and sisters and within a moment I saw five other little half dressed boys and girls running toward me. I was about ready to get in my car and pull away, knowing how unwise it is for strange adults to be too friendly with children they do not know, when a mom and dad appeared brining  up the rear of the pack.  They sought to round up the kids and apologized for their curiosity telling me that they didnt get to see many folks in these parts. By this time the children were all over the car, with the wide eyed amazement that only children can have.  I thanked them for allowing me to look at the beauty of the area and enjoying the afternoon. I noticed the children looked at the can of Pringles and two packs of crackers on my car seat. I asked the mother if she would like to give them to the children and all the kids begin to scream yes, yes mom, yes. She hesitated then thanked me. As I left I watched as she counted out the chips to the waving thankful and excited children. As I drove off I gave thanks for all that I have and felt sad that too often I take it for granted.

Published in: on March 16, 2011 at 5:36 pm  Leave a Comment