Dad

Dad

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday. This was my last memory of him.

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea. And I saw the holy city, New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband. Revelation 21: 1-2

My dad told me the night before he died that he had seen mother, who had been dead ten years, that day and that she had told him that Jesus was coming for him. I asked him how he felt about that and he said he was glad. I visited with him for about two hours, slept with him, held him, and listened to him breath. As I slipped from the room at about 2:00 AM he awoke and asked if I was going, I said I was, told him bye, kissed him on his head and turned to leave the room. Without turning around I asked him, “What did she look like?” Without asking who are pausing he said, “Like the day I married her.” God wants us to be prepared as a bride would be for her wedding day. Faithful, busy, confident, and living with a longing for Him.

Published in: on May 21, 2017 at 9:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2017/05/21/dad-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

