There was Once

There was Once

There once was a civilized world, sure we had problems, wars, and hard times but most of us felt safe, our homes were safe, we traveled with safety, our children dreamed of wonderful day ahead. Then came 9/11 and for the last 15 years I have watched my old age spent in fear, sorrow, uncertainty, and trouble.

I was in New York the week after 9/11 and even with the sorrow I still saw hope and a future in the hearts of people, but like the Mother Goose rhyme Humpty Dumpty, sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall and no one, not all the king’s horses and all the king’s men have been able to put ole Humpty together again.

The men in blue are being shot like disgraced citizens and I am not sure that the king’s men even care.

I remember the wrong years when I was a boy, but I really thought those feelings and fears were gone. My family was not a part of that, my parents taught us to care and respect all people, but now no one respects anyone, not even themselves.

When I left for the Navy my mother stood on a stool and looked me in the eye and said, “Don’t forget who you are.”

I think God would like to bend down to our size and say, you have forgotten who you are and to whom you belong.

Humpty is sure broken and none of the king’s men will be able to put him together again, only God can save us now.

Ivan

If you are reading this in another country. let me hear from you and how you found us. inraley@yahoo.com

Published in: on July 17, 2016 at 9:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2016/07/17/there-was-once/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

