A Broken Nation

A Broken Nation.

My grandfather, Arthur Raley, was about six feet tall and all the time I knew him his hair was whit like snow. I asked my grandmother once why his hair was so white and she said, “Your grandfather is like Jesus, he is a really good man.”

Years later as I read this passage I realized where she got her answer from and smiled that after all of those years together she still could call him a really, really good man

Yesterday I watched as person after person praised their mothers. I did the same in my message. My family had the joy of being in that age when parents were right, when they stuck it out through hard times and when in spite of all the faults and failures they still found the best in their partners.

My mother loved my dad all of those years and he returned that love. I am sure they had their moments of conflict but they never had a moment that not being together was even a question.

Remember the rhyme from your childhood, Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall and all the kings’ horses and all the kings’ men could not put Humpty together again. We have a broken nation and the pieces are scattered most of all in our families. Until we allow our Lord to put our families together again our world will remain broken, pieces that cannot be put together by all the Kings Horses and all the Kings men, only God can put together a shattered nation and it will not start in Washington, it must start in our homes.

Ivan

Published in: on May 8, 2016 at 9:05 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2016/05/08/a-broken-nation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen Brother Ivan. Thought of you today when the children’s home was emphasized. Your ministry has been varied and amazing. I am especially grateful for the time you spent at Grace when we needed your cam demanor and leadership. God continue to bless you

    • Thanks so much, Loved Grace


Leave a Reply

