Dad

Dad

Not the traveling to class but the turning of pages left him wise.

The quiet words of the wise are more to be headed than the shouts of a ruler of fools. Ecclesiastes 9:17

Sometimes I think you could put all the words that my father spoke in a gallon jug. He was quiet yet when you reached into him you realized that the silence was not the absence of knowledge but in fact the presence of wisdom.

My father did not have a lot of the formal education that most of us enjoy today. His stopped with the twelfth grade which for his generation was considered very adequate. But the absents of education had nothing to do with the volume of wisdom that he possessed.

His was a cup that overflowed. Some of my best memories are etched in my seeing him reading. It seemed to me that he read everything that had writing on it. What he did not receive in the halls of education he more than made up for it in the pages of the volumes which he read.

Slow to speak, but filled with the wisdom that made each day rich. If I could change a quality of my life it would be that I was quieter, less quick to speak, and more like my dad.

Published in: on February 25, 2016 at 10:22 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2016/02/25/dad-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Couldn’t agree more the only difference in my story would be the fact my father only completed 8 grades then his mother died and being the oldest of 7 he started working to help out later on he he finished up at home and became a very successful business man he became the northern division manager for Sun Electric


Leave a Reply

