The Wrong Room

I realized I was in the wrong room as soon as I saw the patient. He was much older than the man I was looking for and he was, by his appearance much sicker. I apologize for coming into the wrong room but the man said, “No sir, you are in the right room. I have been waiting for you, this is the right room. Will you hear my confession?” Now I was really confused but I took his hand and said, “Certainly, but I really think you want God to hear your confession.” I know”, he responded, “but I have been waiting all day for someone to pray with me. I want to know that I am saved.” I took the open bible from his bed, turned to Romans and we walked through the wonderful road to the cross. Then I turned to First John 5:13 and putting it into my own words said, ‘this was written so that you can know that you are saved and have eternal life.’

I was on my knees having prayed with him and now listing to him pray when I sense someone enter the room. When he finished I turned and the nurse said, “Thank God you came, he has been asking for you all day, thank you, thank you.”   I spoke with her a moment, tried to explain that I was in the wrong room but through his shouts of joy and her excitement she never understood. Then I kissed him on his forehead, and prayed again. Tears flowed down his face and onto the pillow. He shouted again, the nurse wept, and I slipped out of the room with her saying, “You didn’t come to the wrong room, you are here because God sent you.” St. Thomas Hospital November 11, 2009

Published in: on February 10, 2016 at 10:36 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2016/02/10/the-wrong-room/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wow! What a beautiful testimony of how much God wants us to know His Salvation aND Assurance!


Leave a Reply

