To Don

To Don
I lost a friend on Wednesday, well that is not correct, I did not lose Don, I know where he is and how he is and with whom he now lives. Don was a Christian, he loved the Lord and he now shares a glorious home prepared just for him.
It must be near a large body of water, full of fish and a couple of large dogs running around the house. That was Don!
I first knew him as his pastor while I was in Franklin, then I went to work with him at the Baptist Children’s Home in Brentwood. Don and his wife were house parents and they were outstanding house parents.
Don helped me learn the ropes at the home, shared with me so many of the things I needed to know, kept me focused and showed me by his living what a good man looks like.
He could take a boy who hated being in the home and turn him into a wonderful man, father, and Christian. Don had our Father’s touch and he used it with power and joy at the home.
The Children’s Home has missed him and his wife since they retired and now those of us who loved him shall miss him until we join with him in a home prepared for us.
Thanks for a job well done Don, thanks for loving kids, your family, and our Lord.
Until…

Published in: on January 7, 2016 at 12:23 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2016/01/07/to-don/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thank you, Dr Raley.


Leave a Reply

