The Failure of Fear

He shall not be afraid of evil tidings; his heart is fixed, trusting in the Lord. Psalm 112:7

In these trouble times with all of our fears God must be saying to us, ‘Stop being so afraid, believe me, I am going to win.’

I have suffered from fear since I was a small boy. There was the fear of failure, missing the ball, not doing as well as others, and a thousand other fears. It was a very crippling destructive problem in my life. I always felt inferior, not prepared, and just not able to do the job.

This weight came to life when I was in the Navy. I was so fearful of failure that I could not perform. I worried about each detail until my mind was so cluttered with the fear that I just wanted to throw in the towel.

A Chief at San Diego saw this in me and said, ‘Ivan with your fear of failure you are never going to be able to do enough just to get through. Would it not be better to give it your best shot and see how it goes?  If you fail at least you tried, if you don’t try then you have already failed.’ The Chief was right.

Published in: on December 29, 2015 at 11:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2015/12/29/the-failure-of-fear-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

