Remembering

Watching the Sun – Remembering Things Past

I drove down to the shore one afternoon where I had one of those glorious views so that I could watch the sun dip itself into our beautiful Dale Hollow Lake.

I thought about my dad and how he loved the water, rivers, lakes, any kind of water. He talked for years about building a houseboat, but mother would have nothing of it, and that was enough excuse to keep him for starting the adventure.

I think it might have been a dream that he enjoyed talking about more than doing. I am grateful for my parents, God placed me in a wonderful home and I am deeply blessed because of it. I remember mom and thought about how busy and worried she would be this time of year, planning for a big feast on Thanksgiving and again for Christmas. She loved it but you never caught that in her talking and in her worry. It would have been a dark hour if her ‘children’ had not come home for the holidays.

I ran across my mind those events when we gather at the house at 246 South Lindsey Street, grownups talking, children playing, rooms full of people, but though it all the events of the day were all circled around our being a family and being together.

I remembered the Thursday night that mother died in that house, how it had changed even the aroma of the place. After mother left it was never the same, what she took with her could not be replaced.

I thought about dad as the years closed and he stopped dreaming of a houseboat and travel and adventures; it was like the sun I was watching, almost ready to dip itself into the darkening waters of our lake. I asked him one day if he ever thought about the houseboat and he said, “I think there is not enough time to finish it.” He was right for when dreams stop, time begins to run at its rapid pace and like the falling sun it is soon gone.

Darkness fell across me, I said a prayer of thanksgiving for the life that God has given to me; remembering the past was good but living today in now the task. I am grateful to live it among the people of the Upper Cumberland, good people, great life, I love it.

Ivan (Published before)

Published in: on November 17, 2015 at 10:05 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2015/11/17/remembering/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

