My First Kiss

Boys and Girls

Boys and girls are different and I for one am very glad that they are different. However I can remember when I was not sure how I felt about girls because they always wanted to pretend and we guys didn’t know what that meant because we wanted to play like.

You know like cowboys and Indians, and soldiers and cops and robbers. There were other things I wasn’t sure about for example mother said that I must never hit a girl and for all these years I have not, but I remember one girl in our group of kids on Lindsey Street that hit all of the guys and even put a hot marshmallow on my arm; if I searched really close I think I could find the scar, she just liked to beat up people.

But then there was this other girl; she told everyone that she ‘liked’ me and boy did that made me mad, not sure why but it did, of course that was then not now. I remember one day when we were all playing in the empty lot on Lindsey Street that she chased me down and flat kissed me. You read it right; she flat touched her lips to mine. We would call it a smooth mouth today but then to a ten year old it was bad, really bad. I spit, and spit and spit trying to get rid of that kiss.

Well time went on and I grew and she grew. Somewhere about our junior year in high school she turned into a ten and I, well I was still a four, nothing has really changed in all those years, I got a lot taller, but baldness came early and I have always been a pretty good four.

Well I remembered that day on Lindsey Street and that brief moment when she kissed me. I decided to prod her memory and so I stood beside her in the lunch line and said, “You remember that day on Lindsey Street a long time ago?” She turned and looked at me and said, “What are you talking about and who are you; go away you tall drink of water.”

Well I guess she didn’t remember. So it is that life moves on, hurt feelings and all; but I still remember. I am still glad that boys and girls are different.

Ivan

Published in: on June 22, 2015 at 11:15 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2015/06/22/my-first-kiss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

