Saying Goodbye

Saying Goodbye – Jim Sells

I never have been good at saying goodbye; one church member told me when I had resigned from the church that I was a very good pastor but a lousy goodbye. I believe he was right.

I understand the scripture and believe with all my heart that Jim is with the Lord, that through his faith in God he is now blessed to be with Him in glory. Yet, I really did not want to say goodbye.

I have shared the same emotions with both of my parents, three sisters, brother-in-laws, and two nephews and countless friends and fellow church member, but I have never learned to do it gracefully and with full peace.

I had only know Jim since he returned to Byrdstown, even though we are the same age, just four days apart I did not know of the joyful years of his basketball stardom, his young life as a husband and father, just these last years of settling into the closing time.

Jim had a will and mind of his own, he could be stubborn and even quarrelsome, but through it all we remained friends and prayer partners. We did not always agree, but we always shared a mutual love and respect and a firm desire to serve our Lord.

He had a passion for lost people, a desire to tell everyone about Jesus, to make sure that all heard the wonderful story of God and His love.

When the call came on Monday I drove to his home with hurt in my heart, I did not want to see what I was going to see and I did not want to say goodbye, some might even say I was angry, maybe I was, not at anyone just that life has to close.

Thanks Jim for your love, prayers and dreams, our family of faith will care for the love of your life, Patsy, until glory, yes until glory, goodbye.

Ivan

Published in: on March 11, 2015 at 11:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2015/03/11/saying-goodbye-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

