Thanks Byrdstown

This Sunday will mark the beginning of 14 years for me as a part of your community; it was the first Sunday in February of 2002 when I came to pastor First Baptist Church. I have not kept up with all the friends and families that I have buried, really too many for me to count without writing them down. But each one an important memory, a long day of saying goodbye.

I have preached about 1900 message, some of my member might remark that too many of them more than once. This is the 994 post that I have written in the past four years, they have been opened 81,535 times by people in 73 countries.

The Press has been very kind to publish many of my stories, and many of you have stopped me at the Shell, Dixie, B & K and said you enjoyed them; that is one of the Hallmarks of our community, you are a people of gratitude, that adds so much to the joy of living here.

I can remember in those early days of driving up here, attending a ball game and driving back to Nashville, not so now, the legs, eyes, and rest of the body will not allow it. In fact it is a real struggle just to sit through a game, the old body just groins too much.

We have great schools, greater teachers and staff, a medical center second to no one’s in this state, rivers and a lake that people travel far and wide to enjoy, docks where you can feel at home and beauty that is difficult to describe. But those are not the things which make our community great and desirable, you are; the people, you who live here, work here, worship here and plan to be placed someday beneath this beautiful soil, you make it valuable.

Mildred still says that I am a ship in and in truth I am, but better to be a ship in than to never had experienced life in Pickett County, thank you, the years will rob much of the future, but you, you will have added so much that many, many others will be glad they came to ‘these parts’. Ivan

 

Published in: on January 29, 2015 at 11:05 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2015/01/29/thanks-byrdstown/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well said I can relate to a lot of what you said enjoy the daily stories

  2. Congratulations Brother Ivan. From personal experience, I know you have been a God sent blessing to them as you were to us at Grace. Tom Cawood

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

    Ivans Stories wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com Ivan Raley posted: “This Sunday will mark the beginning of 14 years for me as a part of your community; it was the first Sunday in February of 2002 when I came to pastor First Baptist Church. I have not kept up with all the friends and families that I have buried, really too”


Leave a Reply

