Follow the Footprints

At our home on 246 South Lindsey Street my dad had built a large work shop out back. It was both a wood working shop as well as a place for dad to show his collection of Indian artifacts.  I still remember a winter when I was about six that it snowed really deep. Of course to a six year old boy who was very small for his age five or six inches seemed like a couple of feet. I was thrilled with the white covering of our Lindsey Street world and had spent the day outside playing in its beauty. After supper dad decided to go out to his shop and I decided to follow him.  Since my boots were wet and put away to dry I only had on my school shoes and did not wish to get them wet so I devised a great plan; I jumped from footprint to footprint that my father had left in his walk to the shop. To my joy I arrived at the shop with shoes clean and dry. I learned something that late afternoon, follow your Fathers steps and you have a great path. Later as a father I learned to leave footprints that would allow your children to follow you anywhere without going astray.

Published in: on April 24, 2014 at 12:05 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2014/04/24/follow-the-footprints-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh that’s an awesome story… I loved it!!!

    I recently came across an International Short story contest on Tallenge with $100 prize money & a chance to win Annual contest with $10000 prize.

    You can Sign up & participate for free. For further details about the contest please visit http://www.tallenge.com/contest/literaturestorycontest.html

    I observed lot of active readers there & they will definitely love your story.

  2. Beautiful! It is so easy to visualize that one, while recognizing there is a lesson for life there.


Leave a Reply

