A Cup Not Passed

Jesus, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.” Matthew 26 39

As I boy I wondered what Christ was asking the Father to do. Maybe it was to let Him not suffer, maybe not be exposed to all the shame and humiliation of being crucified? As I grew older I decided it was that Jesus did not want the Father to turn His back on Him but now my heart tells me that the cup Jesus spoke of was the cup that all the horrible sinners of this world had spit their sins into. Name the bad guys there are so many it would easily fill a cup. All of their sins, shame, and cancerous thoughts put in that cup and then His taking it to His lips to drink. I wanted to cry when I thought of that, it was more than I could think about; then it occurred to me that I had left out some sins, my sins, all the thoughts, all the deeds, all the task I did not do, all of my sin was placed in that cup and Jesus drink all of my sin. He who knew no sin became sin because of me so that He might pay for my sin and I could go free. The cup not passed was filled with my sin and Jesus drink it all.

Ivan

 

Published in: on April 9, 2014 at 11:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/a-cup-not-passed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

