Saying Goodbye

I am going tomorrow to pay my respects to the family of Imogene Steiner, from Waynesboro, Tennessee. I have known her husband Lawrence and Imogene for more than thirty years, first as he served as the Director of Missions for our association of churches in Indian Creek and then as houseparent’s at the Tennessee Baptist Children’s Homes. Imogene was one of those people that to know her was to love her; she loved Lawrence, her children and her Lord. Tuesday when I heard of her death I had to have my time to weep, of course I am not afraid for Imogene, she is with the Father, but she will be missed and I should have called more, made more of an effort to keep up with them and paid them a visit, my tears were so much for myself for I had not fulfilled my mission as a pastor and friend. We get so busy in our current world that we forget to reach back into time and refresh those friendships that have altered our lives. I can believe that I must have said a thousand times I need to get in touch with Lawrence and Imogene, but those were but thoughts, never actions. We had so many good times together, we loved to eat out and so did they and we ate at all the places you could discover between Waynesboro and Nashville. We had a lot of fun nights and late nights and those memories bring some comfort but I will miss Imogene, great cook, wonderful wife and mother, living for God in all her ways and serving Him for all of her life. Thanks Imogene, thanks for your example and thanks for your faithfulness. Rest well in the arms of Jesus, Lawrence and I will see you in just a bit.

Ivan

Published in: on March 6, 2014 at 12:05 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/saying-goodbye/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

