The Home Invasion

I turned off the shower, reached for my towel and just as I stepped out of the stall I saw the reflection out of the corner of my eye.  I jumped, slipped on the floor, and if anyone had been in the house I would have screamed with all my strength.  But I was alone and now I was frightened, heart raced, blood pressure went up, and fear overtook my actions.  Who was that?  Why were they in my bathroom?  What did they want? All of these rushed through my mind as I caught myself on the safety rail and broke my fall to a safe decent to the now wet floor.

 I looked up, no one was there, I was alone, but I know I saw someone, where did they go?  Then my brain came back to its place, my blood pressure peaked and started down, and I realized it was me in the room.  I was seeing my own reflection in the mirror and was startled by what I was seeing.  Had I really changed that much?  Has life really been that unkind, that hard, and so damaging?  My music director, Don Norris, use to say that I was older than dirt. Now I really am and not near as valuable. For a moment sitting on the floor I realized that I am as old as all those people in those pictures of my high school class taken recently. Life has taken a real toll. It has. Where did I go? When I close my eyes I see myself about forty years younger. But when I open my eyes well you know.  I think I will remove the mirror from my bathroom, maybe all the mirrors in the house.  Not sure how I will comb my hair.  I know, I know, what hair? Just wait with any luck you will be here someday.

Ivan

Published in: on January 16, 2014 at 12:05 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2014/01/16/the-home-invasion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

