Follow The Footprints

If anyone serves Me, he must follow Me.  Where I am, there My servant also will be.  John 12:26

I can still see in my memory the first large snow of my life.  I was five years old and our street and yard at 246 South Lindsey was covered with what seemed to me like a foot of snow.

To a five year old it was really deep.  My father had a work shed in the back yard and I watched from the kitchen as he started down our steps and out to the wood shop. I ran after him and when I reached the ground the only way I knew to move in the snow was to jump from footprint to footprint that my dad had left. It was really hard but I made it all the way to the shop and when I looked back toward the house the only footprints I could see in the snow were those left by my dad.

I remember that event and wonder now that I am old, how much better my life would have been if I had been diligent to jump from footprint to footprint that Jesus has left before me.

I cannot go back but I can sure try to stay in those footprints today.

Ivan

Published in: on November 18, 2013 at 12:05 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/11/18/follow-the-footprints/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

