I Still Remember

 

Then Joseph asked them about their well-being, and said, “Is your father well, the old man of whom you spoke? Is he still alive? Genesis 43:27

Can you feel the heart of Joseph? After all these years his greatest interest was – Is Dad still alive? After this he left the room so that he could weep. All the years and all the pain and still the heart of Joseph wanted to know about his father.

I understand Joseph’s heart. Twenty-six years ago my Dad went to be with mother in glory and I still remember him so clearly.

I remember how he smiled with his eyes, how he looked and how I felt when he lifted the veil from his mother’s body and kissed her gently before they closed the casket. I remember the touch of his hands on my head when he prayed for me at my ordination as a minister. I remember hearing him pray at Calvary in Jackson. I remember his asking me to go with him back to the room where mother was the night they came and told us that she was gone. He was like a child, he just wanted to weep. I remember his telling me the night before he died that he had seen mother. After twenty-six years I still remember and believe that I understand better why God wanted us to call Him, ‘Our Father.’ It is a wonderful bond.

Ivan

Published in: on October 24, 2013 at 12:05 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/i-still-remember/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

