John Had It Right

John had worked for my dad all of my life.  I never remembered going to the compress that John wasn’t there.  He often worked in our yard, was around a lot, visited my father when he was sick and attended his funeral.  I had preached in his church on a special Sunday and knew that he was a very involved servant of our Lord.

When his church decided to honor him they invited me to be one of the guests and to say a few words about John.

You can imagine how I rose to the occasion, I put all the crowns I could on John and sincerely thank him for his friendship to my family and especially to my dad.

When John rose to speak he said something like, ‘I be grateful to Mr. Ivan for them nice words but he be a lot nicer to me than I be worth. Now he be right I did love Mr. Raley, but then all I ever did was what God spected (sp) me to do. I just do what be my job as a Christian.

John sure had it right.

Ivan

Published in: on October 10, 2013 at 12:05 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/john-had-it-right/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful!

  2. Your means of describing all in this paragraph is really
    fastidious, every one be capable of easily understand it, Thanks a lot.


Leave a Reply

