Just Love One Another

Regarding life together and getting along with each other, you don’t need me to tell you what to do. You’re God-taught in these matters. Just love one another! First Thessalonians 4:9

Somehow our world has lost this command of our Lord. I listen to our leadership on the national, state, and yes often in the church speak about each other and those with whom they disagree and there seems to be no love. It hurts my heart when I hear our people speak so harshly about those chosen to lead us. We my not agree with their values and their choices, but God has commanded us to love them.  I have always told my people at church if you don’t like me it very well could be my fault, however if you don’t love me it is your fault.

So much of our news is spoken and designed to cause us to choose sides, to accept one point of view without even listing to another’s opinion. I realize that a number of things are going on which demand Christians to have an opinion and to know right from wrong, but the word does not teach us to dislike others because of their opinions. I am very fearful that under our rule of law if we do not build a group of leaders who can talk to one another, give and take on issues of government we are going to have a house divided that cannot govern and thus leave the door open for more drastic actions. Now I am not talking about moral issues, they are established for us in His Word and we must be willing to say, while you are entitled to your opinion this is an issue that is part of my faith and thus I must stand as the Book of my faith teaches. But we must also remember that there are many issues that are not faith based but political in nature and thus open for a meeting of the minds. Certainly you and I can agree to at the very least take all issues before our Lord and pray for the healing of our nation and the guidance of our leadership.

The word says that we are God-Taught in these matters.  Since the scriptures are true then we must not be listing to God when we do not treat others with respect and love.

Ivan

Published in: on August 21, 2013 at 12:05 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/just-love-one-another/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very good post. The current trend in ‘love’ seems to be synonymous with ‘agree’ and ‘never question’. This is indeed a mistake, a grave one, and too many people are losing the knowledge that love is a real thing, while a head nod and a smile are meaningless if the heart is not included. Thanks for sharing.

  2. It is so reassuring to read an opinion that aligns totally with what I believe. Thank you for every article, I enjoy them all.


Leave a Reply

