How Is Your Aroma?

 

And walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.  Ephesians 5:2

How do you smell to God? Strange question yet appropriate. When a father hugs his son after a hard fought football game, he does not smell the locker room odor, but rather the aroma of a well played game, a battle on the field in which his son did his best. God says walk in my love and I will be pleased with the aroma. The first thing that hit me when I walked from the airplane into the terminal was a thousand unsold, unused deodorant bottles. It did not get better when I hugged my friend Jim Allen as he waited for me after going through customs. It stayed with me the hour ride to the school but as the week progressed; homes were visited, classes taught, games played, sermons preached and heads buried in my chest as people poured out their hearts as they gave their lives to Christ; I forgot all about the unsold, unused, packages of deodorant. Three weeks later as I walked into the terminal for my flight home the strong pungent odor of my first entrance was gone; now it was the hearts of those who came to see me leave, the tears shared, the hugs of brothers in Christ. There was Jim with a lifetime of service to our Lord, Marko, the nine year old who had adopted me as his American father, and Big Foots ball the leader of the soccer team. Not only could God smell he aroma of changed lives but my large nose picked up each of the drops of the long days, hot nights, and lives beginning again.  Thanks Lord for the new nose.

Ivan

 

Published in: on July 9, 2013 at 12:05 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/how-is-your-aroma/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful beautiful!


Leave a Reply

