No Place Like Home

Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will fellowship with him, and he with me.  Jesus   Revelation 3:20

Bobby use to spend a lot of time at our house.  He would play with our children, eat many of his meals with us and follow me as much as I would allow him.  He was a neat kid, he and his parents lived across the field from us in a small house that from the outside looked very ‘shack’ like, It seemed to me that he did not like his home very much for he avoided being there as often as he could.

One day as he was following me around my office he looked at me and with very serious eyes asked, “Mr. Ivan, why do they say there in no place like home? I know a lot of places better than home.”

With that came an opportunity to talk to Bobby about another home that he was invited to live in someday; His heavenly home. Bobby came to know the Lord and in his heart he moved into that new home. 

I saw Bobby a couple of years ago, he introduced me to his family and then with those same eyes of a child said, “Mr. Ivan I still have my room being made ready in that eternal home, but God has let me build a home here with my family that is like the one you had years ago and just the other day I heard one of my boys say, “You know there is no place like home.” Now I know the answer to the question I asked you so many years ago.”

Ivan

Published in: on June 13, 2013 at 12:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/06/13/no-place-like-home/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

