Backward Turn Backward

And now, Israel, what doth the Lord thy God require of thee, but to fear the Lord thy God, to walk in all his ways, and to love Him . . .  Deuteronomy 10:12

Backward turn backward O time in your flight make be a boy again if just for tonight.

Let me ride my bike on Lindsey street, jump from the bank into Jones’ creek, feel funny when I see Betty Upton, make a four wheeler with and old lawnmower engine and feel so very young. Chew ‘Double Bubble’ gum and blow the largest bubble anyone on Lindsey Street has ever seen. Throw rocks at tin cans and try to catch a bird under a box with a stick and string. Walk to the movies in downtown Jackson, and dream of one day being in the Navy like my uncle Shelby. Let me lie in the grass and pet my dog Popeye, walk to school with the crowd from East Jackson and dream that which only a boy in America could ever hope to dream. Let me play ball in the street, stand and watch the ‘Service Men’ run down the street to their training station, and fill protected by my mother and father.

But time turns not backward, and I will never be a boy again, even for one night. But I can be what God wants me to be and I can do what God desires for me to do. I can have faith in Him, walk in His ways, and love Him with all my heart and I can know that He will always know my name and love me as His child.

Ivan

Published in: on April 15, 2013 at 12:05 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/backward-turn-backward-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Yes Ivan I know you will forever be God’s child and have the child like faith that He asks of us. Thanks for being the wonderful pastor that you are!


Leave a Reply

