Bright Eyes – Cheerful Hearts

Bright eyes cheer the heart; good news strengthens the bones. Proverbs 15:30

All of us have rejoiced when we saw our child or another looking at us with those big bright eyes. There is just something about that which reaches out and grabs our hearts. Have you ever considered that God would love to see that same look on our faces as we bow before Him in prayer? Eyes bright with joy, heart filled with excitement, and our spirits ready to receive His will, all because we were coming to see our master in prayer. Maybe the reason we don’t come before Him like that is we come with request and desires, not just with adoration and devotion ready to listen to His desire for our lives. We should greet God like my 91 year old dog Louie use to do. The moment he would see my car he would begin to run and bark, jump and shakes all over just to be in my presence. Louie never seemed to want anything from me except to be with me. Do we feel that way about God are does most of our time spent with Him find itself crowded with our request and our desires with little are any left just to feel His presence? “I bow before you Lord, thank You for the joy and honor of being with you.” Now we really should be smarter than dogs and we certainly should be more excited than they to meet our Master.

Published in: on April 10, 2013 at 12:05 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/bright-eyes-%e2%80%93-cheerful-hearts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Barbara and I shared your “Louie” story this morning. How special Louie was for you. I accidentally locked John Henry outside this morning and went about with dressing, etc. When I came back near the door and saw him sitting patiently, waiting for me to open the door, should he not have been upset over my thoughtless act to lock him outside? No, write the contrary. He jumped into my arms and wiggled all over — all 6 pounds of his little body as if he had not seen me in 6 months when it only about 6 minutes. John Henry is as was Louie, God’s gift to me — there is no other explanation of such unconditional love and devotion. This is the way God loves us and wants us to love others.
    Live you brother.
    Bud


Leave a Reply

