Room Full of Blessings

My wife had invited this lady and her four children to live with us while we located a safe place for them. The first morning they were there I came out of my office to find the youngest boy stretched out on the floor, watching “Thomas the Train”, and eating from a bowl of cereal in front of him on the floor. I also saw our overweight cocker spaniel; Louie stretched out on the floor in front of the boy and each time he would take a spoon full Louie would reach over and take a big bite from the bowl.

Of course as soon as I entered the room Louie realized he was in trouble and headed for the door. I spoke to the young fellow and said, “You know Louie is eating out of your bowl.”  He looked up at me and with a big grin and said, “I don’t mind sharing mister, I have plenty.” With that I reached down and told him that I would get him a fresh bowl, he said he was full but wanted to tell me a secret.  So I got down on one knee and listened as he whispered into my ear, “Mister you see that room over there, pointing to our pantry, it is full of food and my sister said as long as we live here we will not be hungry.”

I later learned that this was the first time in their life that they had slept in separate beds, and knew where their next meal was coming from.  What I had never noticed was a thrill to him. What I took for granted was a roof full of answered prayers and a wonderful blessing to my young friend and his family.

Lord help me to notice the great blessing that surround me on every side, blessing that I seldom thank you for, blessings that I have taken so for granted that it took a small child and my dog Louie to teach me to be grateful.

Ivan

Published in: on February 10, 2013 at 11:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/room-full-of-blessings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

