Memories

I give thanks to my God for every remembrance of you.  Philippians 1:3

Paul had some wonderful memories of those with whom he had ministered over the years. Like Paul I have so many great memories. The Evans family who lived across the street from me when I was a boy and answered a thousand questioned asked of them by me. My friend Jim Allen whom I had the honor and duty to go two years ago and pay my final respects and say my last goodbye. Every time I see a Pepsi Cola I think of some wonderful moment I shared with him, he loved Pepsi. The other day while going through a box of papers I found the poem my sister Alice wrote the night she went to be with Jesus, what a wonderful moment and remembrance. I looked today at a picture taken of my sister and I the last time we were together, how priceless. Bill Rowell who lived across the street from me when I was a boy, what joyful memories he and John Barber and I have shared as we explored the joys of childhood as found on Lindsey Street. . When I drove into the cemetery for my sister funeral Bill was the first person I saw. Memories of people at churches where I have pastored and supplied, each one made a special mark on my life; marks that have lasted a life time.

Last night at church I saw something that reminded me of my days as a boy preacher and gave thanks to the Lord for the person who produced that memory and the one who made it so long ago.

But no memories are better than that Thursday night in February when I took Jesus as my Lord and Saviour.  It is my prayer that as your have read this you have recalled, names, places, and events that have marked your life. Thank you Lord for the good memories.

Ivan

Published in: on January 23, 2013 at 11:32 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/memories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

