Making Life Brighter

Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs it down, but a good word cheers it up. Proverbs 12:25

As a Christian, yes even as a minister I have suffered from anxiety. It can be life destroying. It takes away your joy, hopes, and even your desires. Anxiety never brought joy to God’s heart and I can assure you He never created it in my life.  I always produced it by my own fears, questions, frustrations, and insecurities.

But a good word can be like a mountain top experience.  It is difficult to explain but sometimes the simplest phrase like, ‘I enjoyed that.’ ‘That meant something to me.” “You touched a spot in my heart with that.” and a thousand other statements have served as a cleansing fluid for my soul. When life looks it’s worst and someone without even knowing says a nice word, shows a bit of interest, or expresses appreciation it can light a fire that burns away the anxiety and creates a new and glorious day.

I know that as Christians we sometimes get so busy with our lives that we forget those who walk through this world with us. Why not choose today to be a fountain flowing with the joy of Jesus as we deal with people. Make sure you are sincere, be certain that your heart is clear and that it is your desire to be a blessing. No false statements, but real from the heart caring.  Being your best to the person who serves you at lunch, speaking with joy to those who share your work place, not responding as they responding but giving yourself as a fountain of joy that others might see Jesus in you. Holding a door, saying thank you, and the normal acts of courtesy can make and will make a real difference.

Be a cheerleader today, you know how, so do it and the world will be sweeter because of you.  Ivan

Published in: on January 22, 2013 at 8:46 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/making-life-brighter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ivan, I always enjoy your stories! I try to make a point of reading your email each day I receive it and then coming to read “the rest of the story”. You are like the second Paul Harvey in a way, only you have your own great “unique story telling mode” as a minister. Most ministers who pastor churches have their own set of drama that comes with church life, and yet you always find some joy to share. That is the most important part each day – finding the joy that God has placed right in front of us! Thank you!

    • Thanks so much.

      • God bless you. Continue writing please. Recently retired. Experiencing difficult adjustment. Decided to dedicate the rest of my life helping others. Your church will provide one place I can do that. Please feel free to ask me for help if mine needed. My background is in news reporting, 22 years reporting crime and court and the same writing weekly column. When we discovered your church, I felt like I was back in Forest Park Baptist Church, where Grandpa baptized me when I was 8. Getting ready to attend Lions’ club tonight. Keep up the good work.

      • Thanks so much, nice of you to write. I am sure that you can and will be used by God.
        Ivan

  2. You’re a great preacher. I love your stories. Short and directly to the point. God Bless You, Brother Ivan.

  3. Matthew 22: 36-40

    “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

    Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

    Ivan, your encouraging posts are wonderful reminders on how we should treat our fellowman. Thank you for being here, we need more like you.

    Paul


Leave a Reply

