Of Value

Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows. Matthew 10:31

I watched this morning as about a dozen birds raided my feeder; they were excited, eating, flying away, and returning to hustle a place for themselves on the feeder. What a wonderful sight as I read my bible and remembered once again that God knows even the birds that enjoy my feeder. I can’t tell one from the other, but He can and He does.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if a man’s true value could be known by those who know him at the time of his living? How nice it would also be if he were aware of their feelings. But then that is not always the way with life but it is the way with Christ.

Jesus shared with His followers that while sparrows were very cheap to purchase they were still so important that God always knew when they perished. Then he reminded them that they were much more important than many sparrows.

A man lives his life, does his best, follows the calling of God and in the best way he knows how he finishes the course, completes his task, and then grows old. No one ever notices the task, the finished path, and the worth of the old man.

I saw a man like that today as I drove down the road. I couldn’t help but wonder who he was, what he had done over the past years and even where he was headed today. I was moved for the old man, touched by how each step seemed to be intentional, chosen, and with great care taken. I hoped he has many friends and I hope he is special and dear to them. I prayed that somewhere someone would speak softly to him today, smile, and wish him well. I pulled into the service station down the road, held the door for and older man getting out of his truck and asked the clerk if he knew the man walking by his station on the other side of the road. He smiled and said, “Sure all of us around here know Mr. Carl, he is a fixture in these parts. Every morning about this time he will pass here first going one way then in a few minutes back the other directions. In fact if he doesn’t come by before ten one of us will run up to his house to see if he is alright. Yes everyone knows and loves Mr. Carl.” I paid for my coke, thanked him for the information and smiled as I got back in my car and watched Mr. Carl walk across his lawn and up his steps with the help of a rail someone had built for him. I pulled away with joy knowing that there is still a part of the world where not only sparrows are special but that even old men are important and loved.

Ivan

Published in: on January 21, 2013 at 11:33 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ivanstories.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/of-value-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

